28. Another “small ‘f’ feminist-woman” ?

by Belle

Here we go again. The small ‘f’ thing. Haven’t we moved on?

Was Barbara Ellen right to label Salma Hayek “confused”?

“at Equality Now’s “Make Equality Reality” event, for co-founding “Chime for Change”, which fights for women’s rights around the world. At the ceremony, which also honoured Gloria Steinem, Hayek said: “I am not a feminist. If men were going through the things women are going through today, I would be fighting for them with just as much passion. I believe in equality.””

See yesterday’s article in the Guardian *

I don’t agree that Hayek’s dismissal of the title ‘feminist’ exhibits confusion. Perhaps she is simply (and maybe badly) expressing her belief in equality. The conversation today is and should be about ‘equality’ – omitting the superfluous ‘gender’ in ‘gender-equality’; the ‘racial’ in ‘racial-equality’ etc.

The whole i.e. equality, is surely greater than the sum of it’s parts.

Time to move on. Equality for all please.

* I’ve referred to the Guardian again. For the record this weekend I am meandering my way through various editions of this week’s Financial Times, The Times, The Sunday Times, The Economist, The New Yorker, The Herald Tribune and more. I like to think I’m well read. It’s all relative.

